Home > Technical Assistance


SRIC provides technical support at ground level for the implementation of national processes for arms management and disarmament in the Great Lakes Region and the Horn of Africa.

  • Regional Centre for Small Arms

SRIC works closely with the Regional Centre for Small Arms (RECSA) formerly known as the Nairobi Secretariat and with her partners; SaferAfrica and Saferworld in establishing and strengthening National Focal Points in the Great Lakes and the Horn of Africa Regions for the implementation of the Nairobi Declaration on the Problem of the Proliferation of Illicit Small Arms and Light Weapons made on 15 of March 2000.

RECSA is also mandated to coordinate the implementation of The Nairobi Protocol for the Prevention, Control and Reduction of Small Arms and Light Weapons in the Great Lakes Region and the Horn of Africa made in Nairobi April 2004 during the 2 nd Ministerial Review Conference. SRIC has been supporting the process as a civil society organisation concerned with and keen on researching on the problem of the proliferation of illicit small arms and light weapons by offering technical assistance and facilitation in related key workshops, meetings and conferences.

SRIC collaborates with NGO partners, the government of Kenya , governments in the sub-region and signatory to the Nairobi Declaration and Protocol, intergovernmental organisations, civil society and security and law enforcement agencies in the implementation process of the Nairobi Declaration and Protocol.

In particular, SRIC has been working in partnership with SaferAfrica of Pretoria, South Africa and Saferworld of London assisting and offering technical support to RECSA, formerly the Nairobi Secretariat. For instance, SRIC participated in the drafting of the Agenda for Action and the Implementation Plan of the Nairobi Declaration. Also, SRIC has been assisting RECSA during with the Ministerial Review Conferences every subsequent year since August 2002 when the first Ministerial was held two years after the signing of the Nairobi Declaration.

Along with RECSA, Saferworld and SaferAfrica, SRIC has been facilitating the formation and establishment of National Focal Points (NFP) in respective states signatory to the Nairobi Declaration. The NFPs have been formed in Burundi , The Democratic Republic of Congo (DRC), Djibouti , Ethiopia , Eritrea , Kenya , Rwanda , Sudan , Tanzania and Uganda .

The Nairobi Declaration requires Member States to conduct national surveys to establish the scope and magnitude of the problem of the proliferation of small arms and develop National Action Plans (NAP). SRIC has been contributing towards offering Technical Expertise in the development of three NAPs in Kenya , Uganda and Tanzania . In each of the three states, progress has been made in the implementation process of the National Action Plans.

  • Eastern Africa Police Chiefs' Committee (EAPCCO)

SRIC and partners work closely with the Interpol Sub-regional Bureau which is also the Secretariat for the Eastern Africa Police Chiefs Committee (EAPCCO).

Crime updates

Media Coverage

Opinion Poll

Is the Kenyan Government doing enough to curb terrorism?

Who's Online

We have 37 guests online